Types of Surveying Based on Methods Adopted

Surveying can be classified into four types based on the measurements taken to determine the area under consideration. They are:
  1. Triangulation surveying
  2. Traverse surveying
  3. Levelling
  4. Tacheometry
  5. Resectioning surveying
  6. DGNSS

No Time To Read?? Watch Video Here

1. Triangulation Surveying

The size and shape of the area is determined by dividing it into a network of well-conditioned triangles. The angle of triangles and their size are measured. It is a conventional surveying method used when each station can see three or more other stations.

           Watch Video: Triangulation Surveying           

2. Traverse Surveying

In traversing, the surveyor move from one point to other by simultaneously measuring bearings and distances by "dead reckoning". Dead reckoning is the process of calculating current position of some moving object by using a previously determined position. Employed when the construction work is long and narrow ( tunnel or motorway construction).

3. Resectioning

A method used to establish the precise position of a single station by measuring the angles and distances to a number of other stations located nearby and whose positions are already known.


Differential Global Navigation Satellite System (DGNSS) measure the relative 3D positions of two stations by recording the satellite observations at each one simultaneously and comparing the result.

Post a Comment

Commenting Spam Links Are Against Policies

Previous Post Next Post