Classification of Fluids Based on Newton's Law

Newton's law of viscosity states that the rate of change of velocity of flow with respect to the depth of flow is directly proportional to the shear stress between the layers of fluid. i.e.
Shear Stress, ፒ = μ.(du/dy);

Where u is the velocity, y is the depth of flow and μ is called the coefficient of dynamic viscosity.
Here, we will discuss the classification of fluids based on Newton's law.

  1. Newtonian and Non-Newtonian Fluid
  2. Shear Thickening and shear-thinning fluid
  3. Bingham Fluid
  4. Thixotropic Fluid
  5. Rheopetic Fluid

Post a Comment


Close Menu