Classification of Stairs Based on Utility

Stairs can be classified based on the use they satisfy in a particular area. It can be classified into utility stairs, private stairs, protected stairs, general access stairs, common stair, and firefighting stairs. 

The above-mentioned stair types are briefly explained in this article.

1. Utility Stair

A utility stair is the type of stair that serves the purpose of escaping, access for maintenance and for the requirement other than usual route between different floor levels on a daily basis.

2. General Access Stair

It is used to serve the purpose of the general movement for all the users of the building on a daily basis. This stair is used for the normal movement of the occupants within the building.

3. Private Stair

This stair is constructed exclusively for the movement of occupants of a particular dwelling. This hence is used for the private movement of some selected people.

4. Protected Stair

This stair is the passage that is used as a safe place for movement during any sort of emergency. This stair finally exits to a final exit out of the building. This stair is enclosed by fire-resistant construction. A Firefighting Stair is a type of protected stairway that can communicate with the accommodation area by means of a firefighting lobby.

5. Common Stair

This is also called as escape stair that is intended for the movement of occupants living in more than one flat.


Hi, I am Anre. I am a structural engineering professional. Prodyogi is a blog I started to share knowledge on civil engineering to the constructors around the world. Each article in Prodyogi is explained precisely to make it simple for everyone to understand. Support Prodyogi and Join the community so that we can learn together.